Skip to content
 Northwest Vista College Library 
1st Floor, Redbud Learning Center (RLC)
3535 N. Ellison Dr.
San Antonio, TX 78251
(210) 486-4513
Mon to Thur: 7:30am - 8:30pm
Fri: 7:30am - 4:00pm
Sat: 8:30am - 2:30pm
Click To Go to Library  

     Research Guides 

     Library Modules 

     Citing Sources 


University of Texas at San Antonio

NVC students can choose a fast track to earn a bachelor and higher level degrees in nanotechnology thanks to an agreement between NVC and the University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA). UTSA’s Department of Physics and NVC’s Academic Workforce Department have partnered to provide a unique 2+2+4 agreement that allows students interested in a nanotechnology career to complete 2 years of coursework in the Associate of Applied Science Program at NVC and then complete 2 additional years of coursework at UTSA to earn a Bachelor of Science in Physics at UTSA. Students who complete the bachelor degree have the opportunity to continue studies at UTSA toward a doctorate degree in physics with an emphasis in nanotechnology. 

Specialized Equipment Instruction at UTSA

Students registered in NVC’s Nanotechniques & Instrumentations course (NANO2326) learn the fundamentals, operation, and maintenance of sophisticated research equipment at various scientific departments at UTSA, including scanning and transmission electron microscopes, atomic force microscopes, and Fourier-transform infrared spectroscopes. 


2+2 Degree Transfer MOU with Department of Physics and Astronomy: 


Lab Usage at Biomedical Engineering: 

Students in our Nanotechnology Program at NVC who register for the course of Nanotechniques & Instrumentations (NANO2326) will learn the fundamentals, operations, and maintenance of various equipments at Biomedical Engineering Department at UTSA. The equipments include Scanning Electron Microscopy, Atomic Force Microscopy, and Fourier Transform Infrared spectroscopy.

Nanotechnology Research at Biomedical Engineering Department at UTSA  

Program Coordinator

Bharathi (Barti) Subramaniasiva, Ph.D.
Program Coordinator
Phone: (210) 486-4773
Office: MLH-201

Area Contacts

Emily Coppin
Administrative Secretary
Phone: (210) 486-4352
Fax: (210) 486-9097
Office: MLH-201

Heather McCreery
Academic Chair, Workforce Programs
Phone: (210) 486-4360
Office: MLH-201A