Education is the best medicine...
This 144-hour course prepares students to take the State of Texas examination to become a licensed Medication Aide by the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services. Instructions and preparation on the administration of medications is the focus of this course. Medication Aide Updates are also available.
Download Application Packet
- Tuition for the course is $877 (this does not include the textbooks or other supplies)
- Financial aid is available in the form of a TPEG-CE Grant, and you can apply at www.fafsa.ed.gov, or call the Student Financial Services Office at (210) 486-2600 for more information.
- Additional Costs (these ESTIMATED costs are in addition to the $877 tuition, and are subject to change)
- Textbooks (2 required books)
- Alamo Colleges parking permit - $50
Medication Aide Schedule:
Coming in September 2015
Medication Aide Update Schedule:
The cost for these courses will $75 contact the Division of Workforce Development and Continuing Education for more information.
January 10, 2015
January 24, 2015
February 14, 2015
February 28, 2015
March 14, 2015
March 28, 2015
- You must first apply and be accepted to the Med Aide Program.
- You must be able to read, write, speak and understand English.
- You must be at least 18 years of age.
- You must be free of communicable diseases and suitable physical/emotional health to safely administer medications.
- You must have a high school diploma or GED. (If you received your high school diploma or GED in foreign country, then you must also have your diploma/transcripts evaluated to determine if the education you received in a foreign country is at least equivalent to what you would receive in the US. We recommend Foreign Credentials Service of America, but you are free to use an evaluation service of your choice.)
- You must be free of previous felony convictions, which will be confirmed via written notice from student's employer.
- You must show proof of being in compliance with their employer's immunization requirements.
- You must be employed as a Certified Nurse Aide in a licensed long term care facility on the first official start date of the training program. OR,
- You must be employed as a non-licensed direct care staff person in a licensed personal care home, assisted living facility, state school, ICF-MR, or correctional facility. On the first official start date of the training program, the student must have been employed in this capacity for at least 90 days.
How to Apply:
- You must submit a complete application packet, and receive a formal acceptance letter from us before being allowed to register for this class.
- Obtain the application packet, and fill out the Application for Admission form.
- Request a letter from the DON, Administrator, or HR Rep at the facility where you work, confirming that you meet their immunization requirements, and that you passed their criminal background check.
- Please do not submit copies of the actual immunizations received, or a copy of the actual background report; we only require the letter from your facility.
- Once you have filled out the Application for Admission form, and obtained the letter from your facility, you can submit your application via mail, in person, or by fax.
- Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
Each student applying to the Medication Aide program must complete the mandatory online orientation. The presentation covers topics such as financial aid, training content, classroom policies, attendance requirements, state testing, and much more. Upon completion of the orientation, you will print out the completion certificate and attach it your application. Applications submitted without proof of completion of the orientation will be denied.